Virginia Section

A Century of Service

Virginia Section Committee Chairs 

 

The following contacts are the chairs of our committees who perform many of the community activities for the Virginia Section.

 

Archivist Committee

Sarah Porter                     
Longwood University
portersg@logwood.edu

The Archivist Committee serves the membership of the American Chemical Society by assessing, collecting, organizing, preserving, maintaining control over, and providing access to records and archives determined to have long-term value. The archivist committee will work in close association with, the historian, the webmaster, the bulletin editor and the section Chair to recommend best practices in labeling, storage, security, back-up and archiving of all records for the section for easy referencing and cross referencing.

 

Chemical Education

Ryan Warren
rwarren@st.catherines.org

 

Community Activities

Kristine Smetana
smetanaks@longwood.edu

 

Government Affairs

Rebecca Pompano
University of Virginia rpompano@virginia.edu

 

 

Membership / Hospitality

Todd Koch
Pfizer Consumer Healthcare
todd.koch@pfizer.com

 

Minority Affairs

Hyacinth Yarabe
Pfizer Consumer Healthcare Hyacinth.yarabe@pfizer.com

Charlene Crawley
Virginia Commonwealth University cdcrawle@vcu.edu

 

 Publications Editor

James D. Beck
beckjd1977@comcast.net

 

 Project SEED

Dorothy Eseonu,  
Virginia Union University
dneseonu@vuu.edu
deseonu@yahoo.com

 

 Student Affiliates

Lachelle Waller              
Virginia Commonwealth University
lmwaller@vcu.edu

Colleen Taylor                
Virginia State University ChairVASectionACS@gmail.com

The Virginia section American Chemical Society Student Affiliate Committee (VA ACSSAC) serves the membership of the American Chemical Society by working closely with Faculty and Staff at Universities in the section to increase the number of college student ACS members and active student affiliate chapters.  Encouragement of student membership and growth is accomplished by communicating the benefits of membership, highlighting the good works of student chapters, holding collaborative events to benefit members and offering support for and branding of student affiliate community activities.

 

Webmaster

Ann M. Sullivan
Reynolds Community College
asullivan@reynolds.edu

 




 

 

 

 

Awards -

           Service & Industrial 

Yezdi B. Pithawalla,           
Altria RD&E  yezdi.b.pithawalla@altria.com

Education 

Larry White                               Bridgewater College lwhite@bridgwater.edu

 

Chemistry Olympiad

Ann M. Sullivan
Reynolds Community College
asullivan@reynolds.edu 

 

Entertainment

Kenneth Chapman
kmcstem@aol.com
 

The Entertainment Committee provides registration services for both monthly and special Virginia Section meetings.

History Committee

Larry White                              Bridgewater College lwhite@bridgwater.edu

The History Committee serves the membership of the American Chemical Society by capturing and locating pictorial, written and oral records that pertain to the section and its activities from its inception to present. The History committee also engages with the Archivist who recommends and implements best practices for all forms of storage.

 

Media Relations

Krista Weissbart
Pfizer Consumer Healthcare
krista.weissbart@pfizer.com

The Media relations committee works with media in all forms produced for the VA section for the purpose of informing the public and general membership of the section’s mission, policies and practices in a positive, consistent and credible manner.

 

 Nominations

Denise Walters
Pfizer Consumer Healthcare denise.walters@pfizer.com

 

Publisher

Will H. Lewis, Jr.
WLewis8669@aol.com

 

 Safety

Joseph Crockett, 
Bridgewater College,
jcrocket@bridgewater.edu

 

 

Women Chemists (WCC)

Stephanie Mabry
Afton Chemical
stephanie.mabry@verizon.net
stephanie.mabry@aftonchemical.com

The Women Chemists Committee (WCC) serves the membership of the American Chemical Society. Our mission is to be leaders in attracting, developing, promoting, and advocating for women in the chemical sciences in order to positively impact society and the profession.

  • Increase participation and retention
    of women in the chemical sciences and related disciplines
  • Take an advocacy position within the
    ACS on issues of importance to
    women in the chemical sciences.
  • Provide leadership for career development opportunities for
    women in the chemical sciences
    and related disciplines
  • Promote and recognize the professional accomplishments of women in the
    chemical sciences and related
    disciplines

 

Younger Chemists (YCC)

Heather Lourenco
VAyoungerchemistscommittee@gmail.com

 

 

Upcoming Events

Friday, Nov 17 at 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Subscribe To Our Site

Recent Blog Entries

No recent entries

National Meeting Countdown