2009 Virginia Section Chemistry Olympiad Results:

I want to thank all of the teachers, the proctors and the students who participated in the 2009 Local Chemistry Olympiad which was a great success this year.  Twenty-eight (28) schools asked to participate with over 1000 students nominated to take either the first year or the second year exam.  From the 28 schools, 8 schools were put into the small school category with less than 600 student enrollment which included 3 small governor’s schools while the remaining large schools with enrollments over 600 competed with the single large governor’s school that participated.   The following results are given below:

Examination Statistics

The statistics on the exams (not separated by category) are following:

Exam statistics (not separated by category)

First Year

(60 questions)

Second Year

(60 questions)


32.9 (54.8%)

28 (46.6%)

Standard deviation












Number of Schools participating



Total Head count students



The local examination and answer key is also available

National Examination

  Sixteen students including several alternates were invited to take the National Olympiad exam on April 25th at J. Sargeant Reynolds Community College in Richmond Virginia.  No more than two students can be nominated from each school and each student must be a U.S. Citizen to be eligible for the IChO study camp.  Of the following students who were nominated, nine participated in the National Exam. 

Valentina Moshnikova, Travis Marshall-Roth*, Duncan Townsend* and Everett Maus*

Albemarle High School

Nikhil Chelliah, John Anderson and Indu Chelliah Charlottesville High School
James (Trip) Templeman* and Peter Megson Collegiate School

Zachary Powers*

Deep Run High School

Gage Richert

Freedom High School

Nicholas Wade

James River High School

Katherine Bauer*

J. R. Tucker High School

Adam Bivens* and Natalie Wong

Maggie L. Walker Governor's School

Emma Oxford

St. Stephens & St. Agnes School

Benjamin Terner and Branden Katona*

Mills E. Godwin High School

Marissa Estep* Home School

    The results of the National Exam

The National Examination is separated into 10 catagories within the three parts of the exam.  Part I contains 60 multiple choice questions; Part II contains 8 - 10 open answer questions while Part III contains 2 laboratory assignments. 

The 10 categories include Bonding and molecular structure;

The National Exam is available on the ACS website.

Local Examination Student Scores

At each school, the student with the highest score received a National Olympiad or Element pin.  The following students were the highest score from each participating school. Teachers from each school also received a pin.


First Year

Second Year

Albemarle High School

Damon McIntire & Parker Hopkins

Valentina Moshnikova
Battlefield High School Thomas Farewell IV, Samantha Lilley, and Stephanie Bolton  
Charlottesville High School Charlotte Cherry John Anderson & Nikhil Chelliah
Collegiate School Elizabeth Cook and William Andrews James Templeman

Colonial Heights High School

Satawart Upadhyay

Emil Iqbal

Cosby High School

Brenda Peterson, Carson Haack, Colin McDonald, and Zachary Taylor

Scott McClaugherty

Deep Run High School

Morgan Urquia, Jordan Gregory, Rachel Bramhall and Holden McGowan

Zachary Powers

Forest Park High School

John Washington & John  Yang


Freedom High School

Payton Rhymes, Patrick Folena, & Bita Khoshhal

Gage Richert

Governor's School of Southside Virginia at Longwood

Ryan Reeves


Harrisonburg High School

 Kevin Nixon & Danial Rashid

Timothy Cupp

Highland Springs High School

Briana James

Christian Sosa

James River High School

Jason Burkholder & Ainslie Jamerson

Nicholas Wade

J. R. Tucker High School

Lara Pugh

Katherine Bauer

Lafayette High School   Sharon Li
Madison County High School   Laura Berry

Maggie Walker Governor's School

Olivia Baumann, Catherine Wise, Daniel Cheng , Shannon Marwitz and Jason Kong

Adam Bivens

Mills E. Godwin High School

Clayton Geipel, Clarissa Hull & Deborah Stratton

Benjamin Terner
New Kent County High School

Margaret Jeter

Patrick Henry High School Kevin Cook Carl Whittaker

Prince George High School

Nathan Puryear, Jordan Walker, & Erica Bulger


Shenandoah Valley Christian Academy

Nathan Rinard & Rebekah Secrist


Spotswood High School

 Mark Gordon


St. Stephen's & St. Agnes School

Janet Yieh, Joseph Sullivan, Caroline Blair, David Thomas & Anthony Lopez

Emma Oxford

Stafford High School

Nicholas Larsen, Kyle Littlejohn, Hae Seong Kim, Michael Guidry, & John Wilder

Kenneth Smith

Stuart Draft High School


Dennis Liu

The Steward School

Ryan McKeown

Christine Craig

The Governor's School of Southside Virginia

Meredith Reamey


Local Examination Student Awards

The students with the three highest scores from all participating schools, separated by category and by test will receive a $25 gift certificate for first place, $15 gift certificate for second place and a $10 gift certificate for third place from Barnes and Nobel.  Those students who were also nominated for the National Exam will receive a $25 gift certificate, instead of their place amount.  The following students have the highest scores within the Virginia Section. 

First Year Chemistry Olympiad Local Examination

1. Small School Category

First Place ($25 gift certificate) - Joseph GrapponeCollegiate School
Second Place ($15) -
Janet Yieh  St.  Stephen’s & St. Agnes’ School, Ryan McKeown 
The Steward School, Meredith Reamey The Governor’s School of Southside Virginia
Third Place ($10) - Joseph Sullivan & Caroline Blair St.  Stephen’s & St. Agnes’ School

2.  Large School Category

First Place ($25 gift certificate) - Olivia BaumannMaggie L. Walker Governor's School
Second Place ($15) -
Catherine WiseMaggie L. Walker Governor's School
Third Place ($10) - Thomas CasalaspiMaggie L. Walker Governor's School

Second Year Chemistry Olympiad Local Examination

1. Small School Category

First Place ($25 gift certificate) - James Templeman* Collegiate School
Second Place ($15) -
 Peter Megson Collegiate School
Third Place ($10) - Emma Oxford
St. Stephen's & St. Agnes School

2.  Large School Category

First Place ($25 gift certificate) - Valentina Moshnikova – Albemarle High School
Second Place ($15) -
Travis Marshall-Roth* – Albemarle High School
Third Place ($10) - Benjamin TernerMills E. Godwin High School

*  These students participated in the National Examination and will receive a $25 gift certificate.

Team Awards

Team Awards are given to the school having the highest combined total for three students separated by category and year.  Each of the following schools will be invited to attend the December Meeting of the Virginia Section.  These schools will receive a plaque to show they won the team award.  

First year Team Award



Small School & Small Governor’s School

St. Stephen's & St. Agnes' School

Large School & Large Governor’s School

Maggie Walker Governor’s School



Second Year



Small School & Small Governor’s School

Collegiate School

Large School & Large Governor’s School

Albemarle High School